Sunday morning = extra yum breakfast

So on the weekends, I like to get up and make a big breakfast.  A few months ago, I would’ve served up some biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs with cheese, or French toast loaded with butter and syrup, and I would’ve thought nothing of it. Nothing of the fact that my children were ingesting what amounted to pure sugar and fat, nothing of the fact that they were getting minimal nutrition from their food, and nothing of the fact that my kitchen looked like a greasy, cholesterol-laden tornado full of sausage and and cheese had blown through it after it was all over. 

Today, however, I think in different terms. So I decided to make pancakes and omelets.  What? That’s not healthy! Pancakes and omelets….pshaw!  Let me rephrase….I decided to make whole wheat pancakes with homemade blueberry syrup and egg white omelets with organic spinach and Campari tomatoes.  (If you have never eaten Campari tomatoes,  you must do so immediately.) They’re soooo good….not homegrown quality, but a close second, especially in early spring when the romas are pretty much the only ones available (unless you go to Whole Foods and buy $9,000/lb heirlooms, but that’s not how I roll).  Anyway….I digress. Let’s return to breakfast, shall we?

I got online and went to my fave recipe site: allrecipes.com.  I love it. I really do. I use it all the time. And I searched for pancakes, and came across this little gem: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Classic-Pancakes/Detail.aspx.  Look, it’s called CLASSIC pancakes. How can you go wrong with this?  As an added bonus, it’s made with Silk soy milk, which I just happened to have in my fridge.  Now, if you don’t have it, don’t cry. Regular milk will work just fine, but I must say the Silk gives it a little something extra taste-wise.  Here’s what I changed to make this recipe just a tad healthier: 

1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 tbsp. agave nectar (or honey would work too, I just prefer agave)
2 tsp. baking powder
pinch of salt
1 cup Silk soy milk
2 tbsp. unsweetened applesauce
2 egg whites
1/2 tsp. cinnamon (because you can’t have pancakes without cinnamon, imo)

Spray and heat your skillet, mix all that goodness together, slap it on the skillet, and voila…..nutritious pancakes.  While those are cooking, you can make your own healthy syrup too.  Take about a cup of frozen blueberries and a tbsp. of agave (seriously I’m obsessed with this stuff) and heat it on low in a small saucepan for a few minutes.  It will be a little thin; if you prefer thicker syrup, add some cornstarch in small quantities, whisking to remove clumps.  Turn off the heat and let stand for a few more minutes, and then praise yourself mightily for creating something beautiful, nourishing, and high fructose corn syrup-free.

Onto the omelets….use egg whites only and discard the weird yellow stuff they call yolk.  Heat some olive oil in a skillet and add your whisked egg whites.  Cook thoroughly, and then throw in some spinach (superfood alert!) and the tomatoes, add a little pepper, and if you like, a bit of cheese.  Fold over and you have a truly delightful addition for your morning feast.  If you’re not a weenie, add a little Tabasco for an extra kick.

Want to know the best part of all this?  One pancake with a large spoonful of syrup and a 2-egg white omelet with veggies is only around 200 calories.  Yes, that’s right. 200.  I looked it up to verify this number, and while I’m fairly new to calorie counting recipes using fresh ingredients, I do believe this number is pretty accurate.  Which excited me to no end.

Here’s the finished product: 

Please ignore the chip in my poor plate. Let’s focus on the food….yum! Good n healthy….just the way we like it.

1 comment so far

  1. Rachel on

    I’m starting to feel a bit creepy with all of these comments (hopefully you get an email alert or something with each one…), but I just can’t stop! I found this pancake recipe a couple of weeks ago. You should try it.

    Lemon-Ricotta Pancakes
    2c all-purpose flour (I think I used half all-purpose and half buckwheat)
    2t baking powder
    1/2t salt
    2 large egg yolks (don’t know how you feel about this, but it’s worth it)
    1 1/2c whole milk (I had 2%, so I used it)
    1c ricotta cheese
    1t fresh lemon zest (I didn’t measure, just zested one lemon)
    2 large egg whites

    Mix flour, baking soda, and salt. Whisk in yolks, milk, cheese, and zest. In a separate bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form. With a rubber spatula, fold the egg whites into the batter until you no longer see white. COOK!

    Mine batter was very thick, but that turned out to be really good, as these were the fattest, softest, and quite possibly the most delicious pancakes I have made. Ever.


Leave a Reply

