A peek inside…

This feels very personal to me.  Like I’m exposing things about myself that others aren’t necessarily supposed to see.  Like I’m revealing my innermost secrets.  Like I’m BARING MY SOUL.  Whew.  That’s all pretty heavy.  But, because I’m all about being open and honest, I’m going to put my vulnerabilities aside and let you take a peek inside……my fridge.  If you care.  If you don’t, please navigate away from this site and find something more interesting. It won’t be hard to do.

There are a few items in here that I’d like to point out, and there are a few I’d like you to ignore.  Let’s talk about the good stuff first.  On the top shelf, you’ll notice a bottle of flax seed oil.  Flax seeds have been called one of the most powerful foods on the planet, and that’s because they’re loaded with omega-3 essential fatty acids, lignans, and fiber.  That means they’re good for ya. You can add it to oatmeal, smoothies, salads, veggies…anything, really.

Plain yogurt is in there too, between the PURE MAPLE SYRUP and the ORGANIC EGGS.  Yogurt has lots of probiotics which boosts your immune system and does other good stuff to your insides.  Not all yogurts are created equally though…if you want the good stuff, make sure it has live cultures in it.

The second shelf contains an assortment of leftovers which I choose not to discuss, a jar of natural peanut butter, and a container of green and white tea mixed together.  I’m proud of my tea infusion, and I think you should make it because it tastes really good and it’s got lots of antioxidants and other tea goodies in it. Plus, it’s a nice change from water. 

The bottom shelf and drawers are about 90% fresh vegetables (I keep the fruit out on the counter).  See that handy bin in there?  I bought that because I like things to be organized, and it looks better than putting them all in a big pile on the fridge shelf.  The regular items I add to this bin include: carrots, celery, onions, tomatoes, cilantro, kale, peppers, cucumbers, and zucchini.  We use these in salads, dinner entrees, sandwiches, and juices.  Trent creates something truly nasty that he calls Poop Juice, mainly because it looks, smells, and tastes like pure sh*t.  He takes all those vegetables listed above, blends them together, then simultaneously gulps it down while trying not to spew.  It’s fun to watch.

That wraps up my fridge, pretty much.  If you’re wondering what the white box on the top shelf is, it’s just my cat’s medicine.  He takes cat Prozac because he has a mental disorder. I wish I was joking.

If you’re still reading this, I commend you for your fortitude. I’m moving on to my pantry now, but feel free to turn away at any time.

This is the top shelf of my pantry. It contains an exciting mix of healthful AND extremely bad foods.  Let’s go ahead and get the bad stuff out of the way.  Rum cake….amazing, delicious, moist, rich, exotic, but so very, very, very unhealthful.  If you’re reading this, Sherry, I’m sorry. I love you and I love the rum cake, but right not I cannot partake.  Ooh…a rhyme! (Side note: I read this article the other day about bizarre medical conditions, and there are people in the world that can only speak in rhymes.  Isn’t that interesting?  Like, they actually cannot speak unless they’re rhyming. They must have the most extensive vocabularies….can you imagine trying to rhyme something with….Massachusetts, for instance?)  I also store various candies on the top shelf, which I use to occasionally bribe these weirdos:

I keep all my canned stuff on the second shelf, but I’m beginning to rethink this.  I heard recently that eating canned items isn’t great, due to some type of chemical or toxin or something in the can.  Realistically, though, I will probably keep some canned stuff on hand, like tomatoes.  A lot of the items I have in here now are older, like the soups (condensed soups are no longer on my grocery list due to high sodium and over-processed nature), and I’m just lazy about taking them to the food bank.

The bottom shelf has a couple of items worth mentioning.  Honey, for one, is a good thing to keep on hand.  It’s a natural sweetener (like pure maple syrup or agave nectar), and it’s actually good for you.  In fact, if you buy local honey, you might even be lessening the severity of seasonal allergies.  Coffee is also in there, and can I just say how happy I will be when this gigantic tub of Folger’s is gone? I love coffee (for both its taste and health benefits), but I’m ready to grind my own beans and be experimental with flavors.  Sorry, Folger’s, but our love affair has come to an end.   Quinoa is another item I stock.  This is sorta weird stuff, to be honest.  I’m not in love with it, but it’s really, really, really good for you.  It’s like a grain, but it’s actually a protein.  By itself, it has sort of a bland, nutty (haha, I said nutty) flavor.  I prefer it mixed in soups, personally, but it’s really a versatile food that can be used as a side, sprinkled on a salad, or even a main course with vegetables and lean meat added in.

The other part of my pantry serves as the resting place for these foods:

This is where I keep all my rice, beans, grains, cereals, and that sort of stuff.  And my beignet mix from Cafe du Monde (Sherry, u r my bff 4eva).  Good things to keep in your pantry on a regular basis: dry beans (black, red, pinto, Great Northern, whatever….they’re easy to make, super friggin cheap, and good for you), whole wheat pasta, brown rice, Thin Mints (what?! How’d those get in there?!), and oatmeal.  Oatmeal is something you should eat every day because of it’s high fiber and protein content.  It also lowers cholesterol and decreases your risk for cardiovascular disease.  BONUS.   But….notice my oatmeal is “quick oats.”  Don’t do this.  Go for the steel cut oatmeal, as this has the least amount of processing, and then let me know where you got it.  I haven’t found it yet.

So that sums up most of the contents of my kitchen and what I stock on (pretty much) a weekly basis.  I’ve got a lot of fresh fruit, as well as frozen stuff like blueberries, fish, chicken, and fried mozzarella sticks.  Mmmmm…..fried cheese…..mmmm….honestly, I didn’t want them, but the evil fried mozzarella stick empire forced me to do it. I was powerless against them.

So that’s all the sharing I feel like I can physically and emotionally handle today.  I’ve exposed not only my refrigerator and pantry, but also the core of my being.  I hope you’re happy.

2 comments so far

  1. faith3000 on

    Chan, I’ll happily take the rum cake back. I can eat it, half a cake at a time, on my diet. And I’m down to my last one. Bring it back! :)

  2. Rachel on

    You can get steel cut oats from Whole Foods. I don’t know about stores near you, but if they have a section with Bob’s Red Mill stuff, there just might be some.


Leave a Reply

