Fish tacos….hehehe

For some reason, these have always frightened me. I never thought they sounded good….fish and Mexican just don’t go together in my book.  But, as incredible as this sounds, my book was wrong.  I know, I couldn’t believe it either.

So I was flipping through a magazine the other day and stumbled across this recipe for Chipotle Lime Tilapia Tacos and decided to give it a shot. And I’m so glad I did, because they were spicy and fishy and taco-y and and just good.  Here’s how you do it:

6 frozen or fresh tilapia filets
1/2 cup non-fat sour cream
1 tsp. chipotle chile pepper in adobe sauce (I didn’t have this and used green chilis instead)
Pinch of salt
1/2 cup finely chopped onion
1/2 cup chopped tomato
3 tbsp. fresh cilantro, coarsely chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp. ground cumin
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon (I questioned this, but don’t be like me…this adds a wonderfully unique flavor to the fish)
2 tbsp. olive oil
1 lime
Flour or corn tortillas (I used corn because I’m under the impression they’re healthier….is this true? Anyone?)

First, if you’re using frozen tilapia, thaw it out.  Just throw the suckers in a large bowl with cool water while you’re getting the other stuff ready.  Now, mix the onion, tomato, and cilantro together in a bowl. I also added a little salt, pepper, and garlic to this because I think it makes it extra special. Set this aside so the flavors can mingle and intensify and do naughty things together.

Next, mix the sour cream with a pinch of salt and the chipotle pepper.  If you don’t have this, don’t freak out. I used part of a can of green chilis and threw in some cayenne pepper and it was just fine. It looks weird and goopy, but it’s good, I promise.

Now you need to make the rub for the fish….mix the chopped garlic with the cumin, cinnamon, and salt.  Mix it. Mix it good.  

Now go look at your fish.  Is it thawed?  Good.  It’s time to rub it with the rub.  Haha.  Rub it with the rub….it’s the same word being used as both a verb and a noun in the same sentence!  Cool, huh?! I just love grammar.  After you’ve gotten over the excitement that modern English grammar can induce, pick up some of the garlic mixture and start rubbing it onto the tilapia filets.  Once you’ve got the fish good and coated, heat the olive oil in a skillet and put the filets on.  These will cook fast….just a few minutes on each side.

You can tell when it’s done because the fish will easily flake if you poke at it a few times with a fork.  These filets are clearly not done.  However, when it is done cooking, break it into chunks, and you’re ready to go.  All you need to do now is heat your tortillas, put the fish on, top it with the pico-type mix and sour cream, and pat yourself on the back for happily merging two of the culinary world’s polar opposites – fish and Mexican.  (I realize this has been done multiple times with tantalizing results….but I’m still stuck in my book, remember?)

I served it with black beans and leftover rice from Mandarin chicken night…just threw in the rest of the green chilis to make the rice more Mexicany and less Asiany.  I don’t have an exact calorie count on this one, but my best guess is somewhere between 500 and 600 for a plate such as this:

4 comments so far

  1. Tara on

    Sounds yummy. I’m gonna try this one:)

  2. Rachel on

    Flour tortilla ingredients: a lot of weird crap that I can’t pronounce and don’t know what it is.
    Corn tortilla ingredients: corn, water, maybe some salt and lime.
    Corn wins. If you’re ambitious, you can get some corn masa flour and make them yourself. They’re sooooo good!

  3. Rachel on

    Oh, and you do realize that Mexico is bordered on both sides by large bodies of water…? Presumably with fish? Ha! I’ve left you too many comments.

    • burn.some.goo on

      Haha…yes, I do realize that. I just have never thought seafood and Mexican sounded good together. But we are in a culture where Taco Bell is considered Mexican cuisine, and they don’t have any fish on their menu. My feelings have changed since making this, however.


Leave a Reply

