Tuesday Workout

I meant to post this earlier today, when it was still really fresh in my mind.  But…stuff happened.  And I didn’t.  So I’m doing it now.  I think I’ll still be able to remember most of the details (people have a tendency to vividly recall bad and uncomfortable things that happen to them).

Tuesday is a workout day for me.  I bet you had no idea, right?  Anyway, on Tuesdays, I do 5 sets of chin-downs (I will explain this anomaly momentarily), sit ups, push ups (Chandra-style), and squats.  It probably sounds really easy and wimpy, but I’m easy and wimpy.  Wait…that sounds bad. Let’s just go with wimpy. 

Six weeks ago when I started The Life Change (herein referred to as TLC…..also, I loved that band back in the day, R.I.P. Left Eye!), I did 5 sets of 3 chin-downs, 5 sit ups, 5 push ups, and15 squats.  I know what you’re thinking, and yes, I am embarrassed to type that.  However, I must commend Trent for taking into account my supreme wimpiness and having me start with these low numbers.  Because I almost died that first Tuesday.  Well, not really.  But I did feel a little like crying.  I felt weak and pathetic and like I had the physical strength of a toddler.

Today, however, I have made small increases in all four areas.  Nothing major, but enough for me.  And I am content with that.  So here’s what I do:

Chin-downs:  Trent has conveniently placed a pull-up bar in our kitchen doorway.  I’m going to refrain from going into lengthy detail about the fact that it’s an eyesore, has chipped all the paint underneath it off the door frame, and does not match my home decor AT ALL, because it is, after all, being used by yours truly.  But you know what?  I can’t do a pull up.  Know what else?  I can’t do a chin up either.  If I attempt either, I hang there feebly while humiliating gym class memories of the pull up bar come rushing back to me.  So instead, I do a chin-down.  I get a stool and put it directly under the pull up bar, place my hands in chin up position, then jump up.  Have I hit my head on the door frame yet?  I’m not gonna say.  After I jump up, I hold myself up for 3-5 seconds….sometimes I say “One Mississippi, two Mississippi, three Mississippi…..” and other times I say, “onetwothree!”….it really depends on how many I’ve done.  Then I try and lower myself down as slowly as possible back to the stool.  This is a lot harder than it sounds.  Sometimes I do pretty good, other times I come crashing to the floor, thank you very much, gravity.

Sit ups: I don’t think this really requires much of an explanation.  I lay on ground with my knees bent.  I sit up.  I repeat 4 times.  The end.

Push ups: Hello, push ups.  I hate you.  You are my nemesis.  But I will defeat you….one day.  Until then, I will continue to do Chandra-style push ups.  This means I do one regular, good old-fashioned push up to the best of my ability.  If I’m feeling frisky, I’ll go for two.  After that, I switch to girl push ups (I only call them Chandra-style because it makes me feel important, fyi) for the remaining 9. 

Squats: I think you all probably know what a squat is, so just let me add a couple tips that Trent has drilled into my head.  “Make sure your knees don’t pass your toes!” and “Keep your back straight!” and  “Stick your ass out like you’re ______!”  He screamed these at me multiple times in the beginning.  “I am!!!” I would scream back.  Or, “Shut up and leave me alone, you &*%$#*!!!!”  It was early, I was cranky, nuff said.

So that is my Tuesday workout…..5 sets of all those extremely fun activities.  Currently, I’m doing 6 chin-downs, 6 sit ups, 11 push ups, and 22 squats, 5 times each.  And I think it’s working, because here’s what I look like now:

What?  We’re both girls.  We’re both brunettes.  Is that where the similarities end?  Fine…..

2 comments so far

  1. Tammy on

    Hey sister, I found this recipe last night and I thought of you. I think it sounds yummo!
    http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/recipes/recipecomdetail.jsp?recipeId=25104561

  2. burn.some.goo on

    Yum, that does sound good. May have to try that one out this weekend!


Leave a Reply

