Golden Polenta with Exotic Mushroom Ragout

Honestly, I decided to make this because I really liked the name of it.  It just sounds so fancy….so elegant….so refined….so golden and exotic.  The recipe is in the Cooking the Real Age Way cookbook, but of course I had to change it up a bit.  Not because I thought it sounded bad the way it was, but because I never seem to have all the ingredients called for.  But that’s okay…usually, stuff can be subsituted easily, and if you can’t figure out the substitution on your own, then remember….google is your friend.

Speaking of google, you should see my search history.  It contains the following items, and many more that are too embarrassing to mention:

  • horses
  • why does my dog’s breath smell so bad
  • red wine vinegar subsitute
  • are bakers and chefs containers bpa free
  • fart noises
  • how long does fresh ginger last
  • ryan reynolds
  • how to add videos to my wordpress blog

I love that Ryan Reynolds and fart noises are so close together.  Seriously though, I would gladly listen to his fart noises any day of the week. 

All right, back to the food.  Here’s the recipe how it is written in the book:

3 1/2 c. low sodium chicken or vegetable broth
1 c. cornmeal, preferably stone ground
2 tsp. olive oil
1/2 c. sliced shallots or chopped yellow onion
1 1/2 c. thickly sliced carrots
2 packages (4 oz. each) mixed sliced exotic mushrooms
1 1/2 c. (4 oz.) sliced button or crimini mushrooms
2 tbsp. dry sherry
1 tbsp. chopped fresh thyme or 1 tsp. dried
3/4 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
1/2 c. (2 oz.) crumbled herbed feta or herbed goat cheese

I ended up making several substitutions here, so I’m just going to start at the top.  I used a white onion instead of shallots or a yellow onion; I only had baby portabella mushrooms, so I used those instead of the exotic, button, or crimini mushrooms; I didn’t have dry sherry so I used cooking wine; I opted for dried thyme; and I used grated parmesan cheese instead of feta or goat cheese.  And, in my opinion, the meal still turned out great.  (Trent would 100% disagree with this statement, however.)

Here’s everything I used:

First, get your veggies chopped up.  Chop, chop, chop.

Next, start making your polenta.  Pour 3 cups of the broth and 1 cup of the cornmeal into a large saucepan and bring it to a simmer, whisking frequently. Whisk, whisk, whisk.

This will thicken as it cooks, and it will be the right consistency in about 15 minutes.  Be sure to whisk often though, so you don’t get lumpy polenta.  Cause that’s just gross.  Once it’s done cooking, remove it from heat, set aside, and keep it warm.

Now it’s time to make the mushroom ragout.  In a large skillet heat 2 tsp. of olive oil, and add mushrooms and carrots.  Sautee for 5 minutes.

Then add your mushrooms and sautee for another 5 minutes or so.  I found a couple more morels today, so I chopped those up and threw them in as well.

Let’s make it saucy now, shall we?  Pour in the rest of the broth (1/2 cup), 2 tbsp. of the sherry or other wine, the thyme, salt, and pepper.  Go ahead and put a little grated cheese in there too if you feel like it.  I did.  Let this simmer for about 5 more minutes, then it’s ready to go.

Take your warm polenta, and spread some on a plate, like this:

I love polenta.  It just has such a comforting feeling about it. 

Now take some of the mushroom ragout, and put it on top of the polenta.  Top with more grated cheese and pepper if you like, and declare yourself a talented chef.

Mmm….doesn’t that look good?  It tasted good too.  Here’s what happened to my plate:

I was sorta sad when it was all gone.  I wanted more.  So I ate Trent’s. He didn’t mind.  He would also like me to point out, at this time, that this is not an ideal dish for people wishing to lose weight.  It has too many carbs and no protein.

And I don’t care.  I think it’s still a healthy meal, easy to cook, and delicious.  If you aren’t counting carbs, enjoy!

1 comment so far

  1. AudraRocks on

    Hey! I love you very much, so I must tell you….TYSON chicken is not even close to natural E V E R! In fact TYSON is the devil! http://www.naturalnews.com/024756.html
    http://www.organicconsumers.org/articles/article_6369.cfm

    Dont buy it, Literally or figuratively!
    I found this Co-op in KC, check with them on where to get local chickens, not only will you be helping your family, but also another Kansas City Family. :)
    http://www.facebook.com/kcorganiccoop

    ps. I am so glad I got to see a lime green banana hammock bounce this weekend with you! xoxoxoxoxx!


Leave a Reply

