Plain Ol’ Meatloaf…..Kind of

Part of my cooking weekend included some good old fashioned meatloaf.  I love meatloaf.  LOVE it.  Which is weird, because I used to hate it when I was a kid.  Really, though, I think it was the word “meatloaf” that I found so unappealing.  I mean….meatloaf….it is kind of gross sounding.  I wish I would’ve just gotten over it though, because I deprived myself of this yummy comfort food for years, and all because of the name of it. 

So this meatloaf is a little different from my old recipe, which is soooo good, yet not as healthful as one who is burning goo would like.  Here’s what you need for this one:

Yes, that is ground beef in there.  Yes, I should have used only ground turkey if I wanted to be, like, super crazy healthy. Actually, if I wanted to be super, crazy healthy, I probably wouldn’t make this at all.  But I like to live on the edge.  So I make meatloaf….with….gasp!….ground beef (with some ground turkey mixed in to make me feel a tiny bit better).  Aren’t I crazy and daring?

First thing you need to do is chop up an onion.  No, there is not an onion in that photograph, but that’s because I forgot until after I took the picture.  You should be getting used to that by now anyway.  So chop up an onion, already.  And get about a tablespoon of olive oil (also not pictured) heating in a pan.  Add the chopped onion and cook until translucent.

While that’s cooking, shred the carrots and zucchini.  This is what’s going to help keep your meatloaf from drying out, which is a terrible, yet all too common, meatloaf affliction.

It seems I didn’t get a photo of the shredded carrots.  My apologies.  But I think you get the idea.  You’re also welcome to use pre-shredded carrots here.  I didn’t, but I’m weird, remember?

Now it gets really easy, and this is the beauty of meatloaf.  You just start mixing shiz together.  In goes the meat, onions, shredded veggies, applesauce, ketchup, oats, Italian seasoning, salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, and egg. 

Then it gets gross. Or it does to me, anyway.  You have to squish all this stuff together.  I guess you could use a spoon, but I prefer to just use my (really clean) hands and get it over and done with.  Even though it totally makes me gag.

Squish, squish.

Smush, smush.

Brains!  Okay….side note.  Trent and I watched Return of the Living Dead this weekend, which is probably the worst movie ever made (second only to C.H.U.D.).  Here’s my favorite part:

Now do you see the connection to the meatloaf?  No?  Well it’s because they both look squishy….and the meatloaf feels like what I would imagine brains to feel like, and the zombie likes to eat brains…..I’ll just stop now.

Once it’s all good ‘n mixed, plop it into a greased casserole dish and form it into a loaf.

Cover it with foil and stick it in a 350 degree oven for about 30 minutes.  After 30 minutes, remove the foil and cook it for another 20-30 minutes, or until cooked through.  It should look something like this:

I served mine with mashed potatoes and green beans and a big glob of ketchup, cause I’m old-school like that.  I’ve made fancy glazes for meatloaves before, but I always find myself coming back to ketchup.

1.5 lbs. ground turkey, beef, or a mixture of the two
1 yellow or white onion, chopped
1 tbsp. olive oil
2/3 c. rolled oats
1/2 c. applesauce
1 c. shredded zucchini
1 c. shredded carrots
3 tbsp. ketchup
1 egg
1 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning
1 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 heaping tsp. salt
1/2 heaping tsp. pepper

1 comment so far

  1. Tammy on

    I have always wanted to watch C.H.U.D. because a girl I went to highschool with is in it. She is like eight and has long dark curly hair. Shana Farrell. Look her up. Crazy.


Leave a Reply

