White Chili

This weekend was cold.  Chilly.  Freezing.  Frigid.  Nippy.  Colder than a witch’s blankety blank.  And you know what I do when that happens….besides blasting my furnace, wrapping 26 blankets around me, and refusing to go outside?  I make chili.  Usually, it’s pretty standard stuff – ground beef, beans, tomatoes – but I felt like changing it up a little.  So I gathered up these ingredients:

We’ve got white beans, chicken breasts, chicken broth, olive oil, white onion, garlic, green chilis, cumin, oregano, ground red pepper, garlic powder, fresh cilantro, green onion, and Monterey Jack cheese.  Go ahead and pretend there’s some salt in there too.  And a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. 

The first thing you need to do is prepare the beans.  This is gonna take like 3-4 hours, unless you use canned beans, which you are more than welcome to do.  I just like to make things harder on myself cause I’m weird like that.  This is also a good time to cube the chicken breasts and break out your chipotle peppers, which is going to be a sort of marinade for the chicken.

Hello, beautiful.  (I’m referring to the peppers, not my gross fingernails, fyi.)  Warning: these peppers are SPICY.  I repeat, they are SPICY.  Go easy with them, unless you enjoy disintegrating your tastebuds.  They have a wonderful flavor though, sort of smoky and hot and just….interesting.  Good stuff.  I used half a can, and trust me y’all, it was plenty hot.

Let those sit for a little while so the chicken can absorb all that wonderful flavor.  In the meantime, chop up the white onion.  Chop, chop, chop.

Now mince up the garlic.  Mince, mince, mince.

Put a little olive oil in a stockpot, and add the onion, garlic, and chicken.  Cook until the chicken is done and the onions are nice and soft.

When the chicken is cooked through, add the chicken broth, green chilis, garlic powder, oregano, red pepper, cumin, salt, and cilantro.

Stir it all up, and let it simmer.  I think at this point I added another can of broth because it didn’t seem like enough.  This needs to cook on low heat for about 15 minutes.

During this 15 minutes, feel free to take pictures of your cat, telling him what a handsome beast he is.

“Ugh, can’t you see I’m trying to sleep? I’ve only been sleeping for the last 17 hours.  Leave me alone.”

“Seriously, psycho lady, GO AWAY or I will shoot you with my laser eyes!”

Sorry.  Sometimes I get distracted.

Okay, this is a good time to go check on the chili, so let’s do that.

Mmm….it smells so spicy and good in here.  Let’s finish this up, shall we?  Add in your beans, like this.   Put as much or as little as you like.  I like beans, so I dumped a lot in there. Go ahead and grate some of that Monterey Jack cheese, and stir that in too.

Stir it up, and give it a taste test.  It was at this point that I realized the awesome powers of the chipotle peppers, added some more chicken broth in an attempt to despice-atize it some, and then drank a gallon of milk.  So, so good though.  Serve in expensive, fancy china like mine, and garnish with chopped green onions, some cilantro, more grated cheese, and tortilla chips.  Yums.

You can dip the chips in, crush them and mix them in, or whatever you like.  I’m a crusher and mixer inner, personally.  Overall, perfect spicy meal for a cold day.  Next time, I think I’ll throw in a can of tomatoes, some yellow bell peppers, and I’ll probably cut back on the chipotle peppers so my kids will actually eat this.

Here’s the recipe, friends:

1 tbsp. olive oil
3 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves, cubed
1 white onion, chopped
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
2 cans low sodium chicken broth
1 can chopped green chilis (4 oz.)
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. oregano
1-2 tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro
1/8 tsp. ground red pepper
white beans…..either 2 cans or whatever would be the equivalent to two cans if you’re using beans you’ve cooked yourself….or however much you want
1/2 c. shredded cheese (cheddar, Monterey Jack, pepper jack….whichever)
chopped green onions
chopped cilantro to garnish
grated cheese to garnish

1 comment so far

  1. AudraRocks on

    yummmm! I want to eat at chandra’s!


Leave a Reply

