Indian Food, I Have Ambiguous Feelings Toward You at Present

In the last year or so, I have developed an extreme fondness for Indian food.  The first time I tried it, I said, “Eh.”  The second time I had it, I said, “Now that wasn’t bad at all.”  The third time I ate….no, EXPERIENCED it, I climbed onto the rooftop of Touch of Asia and shouted, “Chicken tikka masala, you are the most incredible thing that has ever happened to meeeee!!!” at the top of my lungs.

Then I went home and sprawled on my couch and moaned for 2 hours because I was so uncomfortably full. 

I think Indian food is an acquired taste, but I also think they put trace amounts of crack in it, because now I can’t stop craving it….even though I often regret it afterwards.  And therein lies my ambiguity towards Indian food, my friends.  I love it.  I savor it.  I want to eat it as often as possible.  And then……there are consequences.  I feel over-full.  I get sleepy.  My stomach gets all gurgly.  I begin to seriously consider laying down wherever I am – work, the store, driving on the interstate – and falling into a deep slumber.  At this point, I swear to myself that I will slowly wean myself off of it until I can safely go past an Indian restaurant without experiencing body-numbing cravings that lead to a single-minded determination to go into the nearest place with curry on the menu and devour everything in sight.

Whew.  That was a mouthful.

Vegetable pakora

In spite of all that, I went to my favorite Indian place in KC last week – Korma Sutra.  Here’s why I love this place – cause it’s freaking good.  Crazy, huh?  Actually, I love it for a variety of reasons, including the fact that, in addition to your meal, they give you samples of everything from pakora to mango kulfi to kheer.  And if there’s anything I love in life, it’s free samples.  But….the main reason I love Korma Sutra is because they have the most amazing vegetable kofta in the world.  It is….I don’t even know.  Honestly, I have no words. If I was on Death Row preparing to be executed, this would be my last meal request.  Here’s what it looks like:

Vegetable kofta

Holy vegetable balls of deliciousness.  Those look incredible.  I could eat them right now, which is kind of ridiculous considering I just ate at an Indian buffet less than 2 hours ago, and just 30 minutes ago I was whining to a few lucky individuals about how awful I felt.  Basically, they’re vegetable patties with spices, nuts, fairy dust, and unicorn glitter served in a rich and creamy sauce of God knows what.  I’m salivating just typing that.

Tandoori chicken

Today I convinced Trent to come my way for lunch, since the lucky bastard got rained out and didn’t have to work.  I’m not at all jealous, bitter, or resentful that he gets random days off due to inclement weather while I waste away in an office.  ANYWAY.  I also managed to convince him to come to Bombay Palace to try out their buffet.  (He had a bad experience last week at Korma Sutra when he told the waiter he wanted his food extra spicy.  Novice mistake.)  So we go in, and their buffet has so many delicious choices on it.  They’ve got a salad area, which I chose to ignore completely, basmati rice, tandoori chicken, chicken tikka masala, aloo gobi, saag paneer, butter chicken, and so much more.  And real quick….I love the names of these dishes.  They sound so exotic.  Except butter chicken, which sounds very……..Midwestern. 

Butter chicken

So I loaded up my plate with rice, chicken tikka masala, tandoori chicken, aloo gobi, and Midwestern butter chicken.  Yes, it was a full plate, and yes, I have a problem at buffets.  Wanna make something of it? Then they brought out some naan, and while it was only okay (personally, I think Korma Sutra’s naan can kick Bombay Palace’s naan’s ass), it was free.  And I’m cool with mediocrity when it’s free.  Trent got pretty much the same stuff I did, because this is the one instance in life where he actually listens to me.

Then we both ate….and ate…..and ate….then we died. 

The end.

Just kidding.  After we ate all that, it was time for Indian desserts.  They have kheer (rice pudding), gulab jamun (fried dough balls), and fruit.  And really, guys, I’m not gonna lie….I just can’t get enough of the fried dough balls.  Look at these things.

They’re just so round and sweet and squishy.  While I could be desribing any number of items here, of course I’m talking about gulab jamun, which, I might add, pairs nicely with a hot cup of chai. 

Now, if you’re wondering what the point to this whole post is, allow me to enlighten you.  There isn’t one.  I just love/hate Indian food so much that I felt like talking about it in 1,000 words or less (that’s the maximum word count I allow myself because I think anymore than that may scare folks away).  And really, I don’t hate Indian food…..I don’t necessarily love how it makes me feel sometimes (i.e., like I’m in a food coma), but I doubt I will ever stop eating it. 

Besides, I’ve got a lunch date next week at Paradise India.

2 comments so far

  1. Rachel on

    Dear Chandra,

    Please come eat Indian food with me soon.

    Your friend,
    Rachel


Leave a Reply

