Spaghetti and Meatuhballs

Mmmm….just typing the title of this post makes me hungry.  I love, love, love spaghetti and meatballs.  I pretty much love anything with pasta in it, but good ol’ fashioned spaghetti and meatballs has a special place in my heart.  It just makes me think happy thoughts.  So I made some last night. 

Since most people know how to boil water, add pasta, and heat up sauce, I’m just going to show you how I made the meatballs, okay?  The first thing I did was leave out some chunks of bread that I had made a couple days ago.  I wanted it to get nice and crusty so I could crumble it up for bread crumbs.

You can also buy already made bread crumbs at the store, or you could even use oatmeal or rice (I think I’ve heard about people using that before)….basically, you need some kind of grain to hold it all together.

So there’s my bread that’s been sitting out all day.  The easiest way to make it crumbly is to put it in big Ziploc and beat the hell out of it with a rolling pin….or so I thought.  I tried that, and it wasn’t cooperating, so I had to break out my food processor, which worked marvelously.  Sometimes I forget I even have this thing, and then I remember and it’s like getting a brand new kitchen appliance.  Those are pretty exciting moments for me.

With the push of a button, my bread chunks turned into bread crumbs.  Magical.

Put your crumbs aside, and whisk two eggs together.  That is an order, people.

Now get out your ground beef, or turkey, or buffalo, venison, ostrich, whatever.  Just get it out.  Oh, and grab some salt, pepper, garlic powder, and Italian seasoning blend too.  If you don’t have this, don’t despair.  It’s basically rosemary, thyme, basil, oregano, marjoram, sage, and maybe a couple other things.  I really don’t remember.  You can just mix and match any or all of those.  This is what I love about meatballs.  You can really just throw whatever in it, and it’ll probably taste pretty good.  Cool, huh?

Beef.

Herbz ‘n spicez.

Might as well throw some of this in there for kicks too.  Now mix it all up.  I didn’t measure anything, just sort of eyeballed it, but my best guess is about 1 tsp. salt, 1 1/4 tsp. pepper, 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1 tsp. onion powder, and 1 to 1 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning.  And…..it could be more or less than that.  Just go with what feels right…..listen to your herbs and spices…..communicate with them.  If you feel like one is saying, “Hey you! Put more of me in there!” then by all means, do it.  Oh, and you need to put in about 3/4 to 1 cup of the bread crumbs too.  Those are a necessary and delicious component….do not forget them.  That’s another order.

Now it’s time for stuff to get squishy.  After stifling your gag reflex, use your hands to mix it all together.  Gross.  I know I’ve never mentioned it before, but I have an aversion to touching raw meat, in particular, squishing it. 

 

Squish, squish, squish.  Gag, gag, gag.

Okay, I’m over it.  Let’s move on.  Let’s make meatballs.  Take chunks of the meat mixture and roll it into balls, about an inch in diameter.  We’re going for a little bit smaller than golf ball size here, friends.  Put several in a hot skillet, making sure to turn frequently them for even cooking.

See how they’re browning up and getting a little crispy?  That’s how we want it to look all over, like this:

If you’re nutso about beef being fully cooked like SOME PEOPLE I KNOW, go ahead and cut one in half to make sure it’s done.

When the meatballs are done, it’s time for something amazing to happen.  It’s time to bring together the holy trinity of Italian food…..pasta, sauce, and meat.  Spaghetti, marinara, and meatballs.  Oh my. 

Add a little shredded parmesan to the top, then serve a salad and some bread with olive oil for dipping, and you’ve got yourself an easy and tasty meal that will have you thinking all sorts of happy thoughts.  Enjoy!

Meatballs:
2 lbs. ground beef
2 eggs, beaten
1 c. bread crumbs
1 tsp. salt
1 1/4 tsp. pepper
1 to 1/2 tsp. Italian seasonings
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. onion powder

Mix all ingredients together and form into 1 inch balls.  Cook over medium heat, turning frequently.  Add to pasta and sauce.  Eat.  Die 1,000 blisfful deaths.

2 comments so far

  1. dad on

    I admit it , I’m nutso.

  2. Tara on

    Where’s the wheat pasta?!?! :D


Leave a Reply

