Frozen Yogurt + Cherries + Dark Chocolate = The End of Me

Last year, I decided that I was going to start making my own ice cream.  It wasn’t because I wanted to save money or use all natural ingredients or anything like that, it was because I love ice cream.  Plain and simple.  I. Love. Ice. Cream.  So I bought an electric ice cream maker cause I’m lazy like that.  Also, it’s the 21st century, and if I don’t have to mess with rock salt and crank a handle, I’m not gonna do it.

Last weekend, I realized that I can also make my own frozen yogurt with my ice cream maker, so out it came from the depths of my cabinet where all the stuff goes that I use approximately 2 times per year.  It was like reuniting with an old friend.  I hugged it and exclaimed, “So good to see you again!” then started filling it in on all that has happened since last summer.

Trent came in to see who I was talking to, then gave me a really weird look and walked out mumbling to himself about crazy people. 

Anyway, here’s what I learned about making my own frozen yogurt.  1) It doesn’t require many ingredients (me likey).  2) It’s super easy (me likey likey).  3) It doesn’t taste as good as Yogurtini (no likey likey). 

Okay, so yeah, it’s not as good as soft serve frozen yogurt, and I don’t have a buffet of chopped up candies and nuts and fruit and cereal and other amazing toppings at my disposal, but……it’s not bad.  It’s actually pretty good.  And when it’s 347 degrees outside, it’s pretty DAMN good. 

Here’s what you need:

Milk, yogurt, half and half (or heavy cream), sugar, vanilla, chopped cherries, and chopped CHOCOLATE.  (That’s in all caps for reason, friends.  It’s the most important ingredient.)

I should also mention at this point that if you have an electric ice cream maker like mine, you will need to freeze the canister for a few hours before you start using it.  If you don’t do this, you will have room temperature soup instead of ice cream or frozen yogurt.  And that’s just no fun. 

First, we’re going to mix the milk and sugar until the sugar dissolves, about 2 minutes on low speed.

Add the half and half, or heavy cream if you wanna get crazy like that.

Then throw in your yogurt.  Btw, you may want to opt for vanilla yogurt here to give the finished product a little more flavor.  I only had plain.  Boo. Hiss.

Glop, glop, glop.  Yogurt is so weird and lumpy.  Let’s move on.  Put in the vanilla next.

And that’s it for now. Whisk all this together, making sure it is thoroughly mixed.

Hello, friend. It really is so, so good to see you again. I missed you all those long winter months.  Sigh.  I’m so glad we’re together again.

The rest is simple.  Take the canister out of the freezer, put in the churner attachment (I have no idea if that’s what it’s called, but it’s the piece that stirs it all together), and put the lid on.  Basically, assemble your ice cream maker.  Then turn it on and pour in the yogurt mixture.

While this is mixing, add the cherries and chocolate chunks.

Here’s what it looks like from the top:

Now walk away.  Resist the urge to stick your whole hand in there and pull out a big glob of it so you can slurp it up.  This needs to mix about 20-25 minutes anyway.

After 20 minutes, check the frozen yogurt and see if it’s frozen enough for you.  For me, it wasn’t, so I transferred it to a container and stuck in the freezer to give it a firmer consistency.  I also managed to somehow forget about it for 2 days (how this is possible, I do not know), so when I got it out to eat some, I found that I had a solid block of frozen yogurt that would require a jackhammer to dish out, unless I wanted to just wait about 30 minutes while it warmed up some.  I don’t have a jackhammer, so I had to wait.  It sucked.

Finally, it was ready.

Yum.  If you have a special relationship with your electric ice cream maker like I do, use it for some frozen yogurt.  I think you’ll be glad you did.

Frozen Yogurt with Cherries and Dark Chocolate:
1 2/3 c. whole milk
3/4 c. sugar
4 c. yogurt
1/4 c. half and half OR heavy cream
1 tbsp. vanilla
3/4 c. chopped fresh cherries
3/4 c. chopped dark chocolate

Combine the milk and sugar in a large bowl and mix on low speed until sugar is dissolved.  Add yogurt, half and half, and vanilla.  Mix thoroughly.  Carefully pour into ice cream maker.  Add cherries and chocolate and allow to mix for 20-25 minutes.  Transfer to a freezer-safe container and put in freezer for a frozen-er consistency.

3 comments so far

  1. Pippa on

    I’m inspired (and don’t want to know anything else about your special relationships with appliances) lol
    How hot Is your house? That blue Nalgene bottle is sweating half to death in the background. :-)

    • burn.some.goo on

      Pip, when it’s 347 degrees outside, even my brand new AC unit can only do so much.

  2. AudraRocks on

    ahhh… I miss you!


Leave a Reply

