Sweet and Spicy Pork Butt

Let me start by saying that I love Ree from www.thepioneerwoman.com.  I really do.  As much as you can love someone you’ve never met, I love this woman.  Not in THAT way, you pervy pervos, but in a “ohhh….we could totally be best friends!” kind of way.  Like, she could be the yin to my yang, or the strawberry to my shortcake, or the Irish cream to my coffee, or the……okay.  I’m stopping.  But I really think that we could be besties, even though our lives are totally different.  For instance, she has red hair,  I have brown hair.  She lives in the country, I live in the…..Grandview.  She is married to a man who wears chaps, I am married to a man who refuses to wear chaps, even when I ask nicely.  You get the picture.

One thing we most definitely have in common, though, is our shared loved of food.  I am interested in everything about food, from growing it, to preparing it, and, of course, to eating it.  That’s my main interest.  The rest is just incidental.  But Ree (I feel like we’re on a first name basis; I don’t care that she doesn’t know mine) is the same way, and I have to say, girlfriend inspires me.  When it comes to cooking, she is masterful.  I have made several dishes using her recipes, and they have all turned out perfectly. 

True, most of her recipes have lots of butter, cream, sugar, cheese, and other unhealthies in them (mmmm….butter….cream…..sugar…..cheeeeeese…..mmmm), but I will still make them, albeit at a less frequent rate.

So one of my favorite dishes on her site combines what will probably sound like weird ingredients to most people.  This is what initially drew me to it…..I like weird stuff.  And I’m so glad, because this is probably the best, most tender, most flavorful meat I’ve ever encountered. 

Behold…..Dr. Pepper Pork:

Look at that hot mess of goodness.  Thank you, thank you, Pioneer Woman.  I feel like I need to pay it forward, so here goes.

Gather these ingredients: a pork butt (also called a shoulder for reasons unknown to me since those are completely different body parts), an onion, some brown sugar, a can of chipotle peppers in adobe sauce, salt n pepa, and 2 cans of Dr. Pepper, Pibb, or if you’re cheap like me, DR. THUNDER.  When reading DR. THUNDER, please do so in a deep and authoritative voice.  It’s how it’s meant to be done. 

Now, get ready.  You are about to embark on a journey so delectable and fraught with excitement that it will truly be life-altering.  I kid you not, friends.  Are you ready?

First thing you’re gonna do is cut the onion into largish wedges, like so:

Now put those in the bottom of a big stockpot, and get out your pork hiney.

Hello, pork hiney.  How are you?  Are you ready to become irresistable?  Great, let’s do it.  Remove the packaging, but be careful.  This is one juicy mutha.  You don’t want to have butt juice splashing all over your countertops.  Now give it a good dose of salt and pepper.

Then put it on top of the onions in the stockpot.

Now let’s add some heat.  Go easy with this, cause these are spicy.  Last time I made this, I used a whole can.  BIG mistake.  After flames began shooting out of my children’s ears, they refused to eat anymore.  When I insisted they try just one more bite, they threated to called Protective Services and then demanded peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

So I’m just using half a can this time.

Time to get out the DR. THUNDER.

You need 2 cans, or measure out 24 ounces and dump it on in.

Now just drop in 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and mix it with the liquid.

Now is the hard part.  You have to put this in the oven and walk away.  FOR SIX HOURS.  (Psst….you do need to turn the roast about twice during that time, though.)

Goodbye for now, my sweet and spicy friend.  I’ll be thinking about you….smelling you….wanting you.  God, I sound so creepy.  But I don’t even care.  If you make this, you’ll understand why and then you’ll start saying creepy things too.

Okay, so check it in a couple of hours, and turn the roast.  Then do the same thing in a couple more hours.  After six hours, the meat will be falling apart, and that is a very, very good thing.

Here it is after I pulled a big chunk out because I couldn’t wait:

Oh my.  So, so good.  Please make this.  I beg of you.  You won’t regret it.  You can make tacos (which is what I did), enchiladas, sandwiches, put it on a salad, or just stand at the stove and stuff your face with it.  Any of these scenarios will put you in a state of bliss.  Promise.

Ree’s Sweet and Spicy Dr. Pepper Pork
1 pork butt (shoulder) roast
1 onion, cut into wedges
2 cans Dr. Pepper
1 can chipotle peppers in adobo sauce
2 tbsp. brown sugar
Salt and pepper

Preheat your oven to 300 degrees.  Layer the onion pieces on the bottom, and rest the salt and peppered roast on top of them.  Add the Dr. Pepper, then as much or as little as you like of the peppers, then mix in the brown sugar.  Cover tightly and cook for six hours, turning the roast 2-3 times during the cooking.  After six hours, remove from the oven, grab a fork, and enter a new dimension.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

