Shrimp ‘n Pasta ‘n Sauce ‘n Veggies

So the other day, I was trying to think of something to make for dinner.  I mentally went through my recipe list….nothing sounded good.  I went to whathef**kshouldImakefordinner.com…..nothing sounded good.  (By the way, if you want to check out that site, the f-word is spelled out. Just fyi.)  I asked for some form of divine intervention…..nothing happened.

Then I remembered I had a big bag of frozen shrimp, some pasta, and some vegetables that would probably taste good with it.  So I just went with it.  Here’s what I started with:

So I’ve got some frozen shrimp, whole wheat pasta, fresh basil that appears to be growing out of control, tomato, onion, garlic, Tabasco sauce, coconut oil, butter, salt and pepper, and white wine (or cooking wine like I have).  Also, lemon juice will be introduced later on, but I wasn’t remembering that when I took the picture.  Spinach too.

Get your water boiling for the pasta; that is the first task at hand.  Oh that reminds me, have you guys seen that commerical with Kelly Ripa where she’s got all these fancy appliances, including a stove that can boil water in 90 seconds?  WTF?  90 seconds? How sweet would that be?  Anyway, while your water is heating on your stove that can’t boil water at the speed of light, go ahead and start cutting your veggies up, namely your onion and garlic.  And go ahead and thaw the shrimp by rinsing it with cold water.  That’s an order.

You can chop it as big or small as you like.  For me, I like smaller onion pieces and bigger garlic pieces, because I LOVE garlic.  If I was on True Blood, the vampires wouldn’t be interested in me because I eat too much garlic.  Just sayin’.

Anyway, put some butter and coconut oil in a deep skillet and get it all melty-like.  Throw in your onions and garlic and sautee until transparent and golden.

Yum.  I just love the smell of sauteeing onions and garlic.

Next, throw your shrimp right on top of this mess.

Mix it around some, then add some white wine.  And seriously, people, don’t be lame like me and use a bottle of cooking wine that you keep on hand for emergency situations…..and running out of wine constitutes an emergency, trust me.  Get a nice pinot grigio, use it, and then drink the rest with dinner.  That’s an order, too.

Now add some lemon juice, and again, don’t be like me and use a bottle of lemon juice.  Get a real lemon for gosh sakes.

Finally, add some Tabasco (a couple of splashes should do the trick) and some salt and pepper.

Give it a good stir, and let it all simmer for a few minutes.  During this time, you might find it convenient to unload the dishwasher, tie a 6-year old’s shoes, and scream at your dogs for tracking mud in the house.   Or you can just inhale deeply and enjoy the delicious aromas.

After this has been bubbling for a few minutes, you can start adding the veggies.  It’s kind of up to you what you want to put in here, but I went with chopped tomatoes, basil, and spinach.

Let’s get crazy and add a little Parmesan too, what the hell.

Give it one last stir and a taste test or two, then prepare yourself for yumminess.

Oh mama.  Spoon this over some cooked pasta, and you’ve got yourself a quick, easy, and tasty meal.  Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

