Quick ‘n Dirty Cobbler

So I made this cobbler last night.  I’ve been craving cobbler, and we were at RC’s the other day, and they had it as their featured dessert.  I thought, “Oh yes, I’ll be having some of that.”  And then Chase tragically (not magically) transformed from a 6-year old into a 2-year old, and I had to remove him from the restaurant and restrain myself from publicly beating him.

Anyway, I didn’t get my cobbler.

I was pissed.

So I decided to make some myself, but I was feeling lazy and took a bunch of shortcuts.  I googled “quick cobbler recipe” or something, made a couple of changes, and here’s what I came up with.  Take your chosen fruit (blueberries, peaches, whatev), and put a layer of it in a pie plate or casserole dish.

Mine were frozen, so I had to heat them up a bit.  You can use fresh fruit though, too.  I’ll allow it.

Now, grab an egg, some sugar, flour, cinnamon, and some coconut oil (or butter), and mix it all together.

Now just mix it all up and set it aside.  I added a little bit of milk to mine too, because it seemed too thick.

At this time, please redirect your attention to the blueberries.  They’ve been waiting patiently, and we don’t want to neglect them any longer.  And this is where it got a little weird for me personally.  I mean, it ended up being fine, but I’ve just never made cobbler like this before.  If you have, great.  If you haven’t, are you ready for some weirdness?  Cool, me too.  Grab a slice or two of bread, tear it into chunks, and layer it on top of the blueberries.

Weird, huh?  Now take your egg mixture and pour it all over the top. 

Please ignore the small slice of deli meat on the counter.  Sometimes SOME people at my house don’t clean up after themselves when they make a sandwich, do they TRENT???

Okay, now we’re just gonna pop this in a 350 degree oven for about 30-40 minutes, or until it looks like this:

Interesting outcome, no?  I thought so.  I was a little skeptical, but lucky for me, I usually just ignore any skepticism I might have when there’s food involved, and I immediately start stuffing my face.  I did take a picture first, but only because of you guys.  Normally, I wouldn’t even bother with a plate, I’d just eat it right out of the pie dish, but I try to make myself look at least somewhat civilized on here.  It’s a real challenge.

Quick ‘n Dirty Cobbler
1-2 cups of frozen (thawed) or fresh fruit
1-2 slices of bread
1 egg, beaten
1/2 – 3/4 c. sugar
1 tbsp. flour
1/2 tbsp. melted coconut oil or butter
dash of cinnamon
splash of milk

Note: I love recipes that have varying ingredient amounts, or ones that call for dashes and splashes.  They’re just more fun….and being precise is kind of boring.  Just in case you were wondering what my thoughts were on that topic.

Preheat the oven to 350.  Place fruit in a pie plate or casserole dish.  Tear bread into chunks and layer it on top of the fruit.  Mix the egg, sugar, flour, coconut oil, cinnamon, and milk until the consistency is somewhere between runny and gloopy.  Pour the egg mixture on top of the bread and fruit, and bake for 30-45 minutes.  Serve warm and top with whipped cream or ice cream.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

