Dreamy French Toast

Last night I dreamt of homemade bread, coated in eggs and buttermilk and spices, pan fried to golden perfection, smeared with cream cheese, and smothered in blueberry syrup.

There was a significant amount of drool on my pillow when I woke up.

Is that weird?

Anyway, I knew what I was going to do this morning….nay, I knew what I HAD to do.  Now, I’m no chef, and I’m sure there are a thousand recipes for French toast out there that are far more creative than this, but this is what I’ve done for years.  In fact, this was one of the first things I learned how to cook from my Grandma Doris Wanda Mae.  It’s a pretty basic recipe, which suits me just fine.  Sometimes I think people are so concerned with making things different and unique and exotic and whatever, and just the old-fashioned simple version is often the best.  When it comes to French toast, I’m stickin’ to my roots, man.

The first thing I did was get the syrup started.  I threw some frozen blueberries, sugar, and a little bit of honey in a saucepan and turned it on low.

Put a lid on that and walk away.  But come back every now and again to give it a stir, okay?

Now we need to mix up the batter (is that what you call it?  Batter?) for the French toast.  Crack a few eggs in a large bowl, add some buttermilk, vanilla, brown sugar, and cinnamon.  You can even make your kids do it for you if you don’t feel like touching slimy eggs so early in the morning.

Whisk it all together, then dip both sides of a piece of bread in it.

In case anyone is wondering (and I know you’re not, but I’m going to explain this anyway), the reason my bread has such an odd shape with that chunk missing from the bottom is because it came out of a bread machine.  Every loaf of bread I make has that indention from the paddle at the bottom of the pan.  It sort of offends my aesthethic sensibilities.

Anyway.

Your skillet should already be hot at this point, so if it is, slap a coated piece of bread in there.  If it’s not, don’t put the bread in it.  I repeat, DO NOT PUT COATED BREAD IN A NOT-HOT SKILLET. 

There was absolutely no reason for me to put that in all caps.  It’s really not that urgent.  But seriously, fire up your stove before hand, kay?

These will cook for a few minutes on each side, and you just want to get them nice and golden brown.  Watch out for soggy spots, cause those are icky.  If you have one, keep cooking it.

Now here’s where things got exciting for me.  I’m not exaggerating.  There’s a very real possibility this will be the high point of my Saturday.  I got out some cream cheese, and I spread it on one piece of French toast.

Then, I took my other piece of French toast and I put it on top of that.

Whoa.  It’s like a culinary mathematical equation.

1 French toast + 1 layer cream cheese + 1 French toast x 13 bites of bliss ÷ 1 weird dream to the 14th power square root denominator fractational numeral EQUALS…….a seriously happy tummy.

Almost.

We still need the blueberry syrup.  Put some of that on and you’ll have the real answer to the equation, friends.

Hello, you.

I think I’m in love.

French Toast with Cream Cheese and Blueberry Syrup
(For the French toast)
5-6 pieces sliced bread, stale is fine
4 eggs
1/2 c. buttermilk
1 tbsp. brown sugar
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. vanilla extract

(For the blueberry syrup)
1 c. frozen blueberries
1/3 c. sugar
1 tbsp. honey

For the French toast, beat eggs, buttermilk, brown sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla in a large bowl.  Dip bread in, one slice at a time, coating both sides in the egg mixture.  Transfer the bread to a hot skillet, and cook until golden brown and not soggy.  Flip, and cook the other side.

For the syrup, mix blueberries, sugar, and honey in a saucepan.  Cook on low heat until berries are thawed and syrup forms, about 5-10 minutes.

To make this all truly dreamy, add cream cheese between two pieces of French toast and top with blueberry syrup.  Heaven awaits you.

2 comments so far

  1. kateshrewsday on

    This looks fab! Printing out the recipe for future use, thanks…

  2. Liz Craft on

    That looks soooooooo good! Just made babcon and eggs, got grossed out by smell (3 mos pregnant) and ate half a banana instead. I need some yummy french toast in my life right now!


Leave a Reply

